Click Map for Details

Flag Counter

Saturday, August 18, 2012

Weary of the Future

The Seven Deadly Sins, also known as the Capital Vices or Cardinal Sins, is a classification of objectionable vices (part of Christian ethics) that have been used since early Christian times to educate and instruct Christians concerning fallen humanity's tendency to sin. The currently recognized version of the sins are usually given as wrath, greed, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony.

The surest path to becoming weary of the future is to eagerly speculate on how innovation will change the heart of man. Nothing holds less promise. The safest prediction in all the world is that is that human nature is indelible and is unchangeable by any human innovation. If people do not perceive that the seven deadly sins are as fully operative today as ever, then they are blind even concerning themselves. The hope for a brighter future has no rational basis and is in this sense crazy. There was and remains only one shred of hope. Doctrinal purity relies on the activities of no institution (which are all corruptible) but on the grace of God in Christ. We are all sooner or later brought to our knees—either in weariness of the world or in reverence of the Trinity.

Print Page